Power grid vendor registration is three separate things at POWERGRID, and only one is a sign-up form. To bid on any tender you register free, once, on the PRANIT e-tender portal (etender.powergrid.in) through Register Now. Makers of transformers, cables, insulators and other listed items apply on the Manufacturing Unit Approval Portal to enter the Compendium of Vendors. Contractors for tower foundations, substation civil work and line construction are not pre-approved: each tender’s qualifying requirements test your completed works and turnover afresh.
Rs 1.04 crore against Rs 377.03 crore. Those are the minimum average annual turnovers POWERGRID asked for in two October 2026 notices, one for civil works at its Davanagere substation in Karnataka and one for rebuilding the Udumalpet-Madurai 400 kV line in Tamil Nadu. Both use the same free portal login, and neither asks for a registration certificate. Both test what you have built and earned. What follows comes from POWERGRID’s own manuals, policy and tender documents, read on 24 and 25 October 2026.
What power grid vendor registration means at POWERGRID
The Vendors menu on POWERGRID’s website links to the tender list, the PRANIT portal, the Compendium of Vendors and the Manufacturing Unit Approval Portal.
| Route | Who it is for | Where | Cost | What you get |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PRANIT bidder registration | Every bidder: contractors, suppliers, service providers | etender.powergrid.in, Register Now | Free, one time | A login to download RFx documents and submit bids |
| Manufacturing unit approval | Makers of equipment and components used in POWERGRID projects | Manufacturing Unit Approval Portal | Nil for domestic makers; Rs 5 lakh per visit plus taxes for offshore makers proposed by a contractor | A place in the Compendium of Vendors |
| Qualification per tender | Civil, foundation, erection and stringing contractors | Annexure-A (BDS) of each bid document | Tender fee and bid security set in each notice | A pass or fail on that one package |
POWERGRID’s Works and Procurement Policy, Volume I, Revision 1.10 of March 2024, draws the same line. Registration, it says, is simply registering the contractor without verification; empanelment means listing a name after credentials are checked. Registration must capture at least your name, address, PAN, digital signature details and GSTIN.
How to register on the PRANIT portal
PRANIT is POWERGRID’s SAP-based e-tendering system. Its Registration Manual, version 1.0 of 6 March 2024, says you need not register again if you have bid on PRANIT before; use the same login, and if you held a POWERGRID contract without a login, ask the RFx coordinator to issue one.
- Pick the tender you want and tell its RFx owner or coordinator, named in the notice, that you intend to bid.
- Click Register Now on the PRANIT portal and fill the Supplier Self-Registration page: company name, country, state, postal code, phone, the email address that will receive your login, the POWERGRID region of the coordinator, the contact person’s name and a product category.
- Accept the data privacy statement and press Send. The button stays inactive until a product category is ticked and every mandatory field is filled.
- Tell the coordinator you have applied. Once POWERGRID accepts the request, the login ID and password come by email. The first password is valid for one week, so reset it at once.
- Get a Class 3B digital signature certificate (signing plus encryption) for the person who will sign bids, and map it on the portal.
The Dausa civil notice of 19 October 2026 adds that you email the required documents with your request and get a user ID within 12 working hours. On 25 October 2026 the portal’s home page warned that DSCs on newer FIPS 140-3 tokens were not supported and advised FIPS 140-2 DSCs; the workaround in its advisory does not let you save and edit a draft response. Ask the helpdesk (0124-2823456) before buying a token.
Is there a POWERGRID vendor list for contractors?
The policy allows one. Clause B10.3.2 of the Works and Procurement Policy lets POWERGRID empanel suppliers and contractors for goods, services and works it buys regularly, and says enlistment is for small value tenders up to Rs 20 crore. Above Rs 20 crore, any supplier or contractor may bid even if not enlisted. Empanelled firms are ordinarily exempt from bid security in tenders for the items and monetary limits they are registered for. The method is left to each procurement centre.
We found no published contractor empanelment list or open application window on POWERGRID’s tender site in October 2026, and that month’s civil and line notices were open tenders judged on their qualifying requirements. That differs from NTPC’s group-by-group vendor enlistment. The tender site does publish a list of blacklisted firms, worth checking before choosing a partner.
Supplier approval and the Compendium of Vendors
Manufacturers register on the Manufacturing Unit Approval Portal with a name, a representative, a mobile number and an email. Its guidelines, a PDF dated January 2025, list 15 documents, including works registration and MSME proof, a list of plant and machinery, testing equipment with calibration status, supplies in the last three years, ISO or BIS approvals, type tests from the last five years and customer performance certificates. Transformers, reactors, cables, switchgear, insulators and GIS equipment carry their own technical requirements.
The clock matters. If the full set of documents is not in within two months, the application is closed and a new request is accepted only after six months. After the factory assessment you get one chance to fix shortcomings, within six months.
Approved makers appear in the Compendium of Vendors, and main contractors choose their sub-vendors from it after their own checks. POWERGRID may remove a maker that has not supplied, or had no POWERGRID visit to its works, for more than two consecutive years. An older MSE note (snapshot dated January 2017) names small-unit items already listed: angles, conductor, bolts and nuts, clamps and hardware fittings. BHEL splits supplier registration from works tenders in much the same way.
What works contractors prove in each tender
For civil and line work, Annexure-A of the Bid Data Sheet is the real test. Three October 2026 notices show the range.
| Item | Davanagere substation civil works | Dausa substation stores, oil shed, spare foundations | Udumalpet-Madurai 400 kV line, TL01 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published | 6 Oct 2026 | 19 Oct 2026 | 23 Oct 2026 |
| Estimate and period | Rs 69,24,115 excl. GST, 9 months | Not stated in the QR, 10 months | Not stated in the QR |
| Tender fee and bid security | Rs 2,500 and Rs 1,39,000 | Rs 12,500 and Rs 6,88,657 | Rs 25,000; bid security not shown |
| Experience, last 7 years | Civil work: one of Rs 55.39 lakh, two of Rs 34.62 lakh or three of Rs 27.69 lakh | RCC or pre-engineered buildings: one of Rs 275.46 lakh, two of Rs 172.17 lakh or three of Rs 137.73 lakh | 110 km of 345 kV-plus lines with tower foundation, erection and stringing; one line of 50 km or more |
| Average turnover, best 3 of last 5 years | Rs 103.86 lakh | Rs 516.5 lakh | Rs 377.03 crore |
| Other financial tests | Liquid assets and net worth not applicable | MSEs and start-ups pass at 80% of turnover | Liquid assets or credit Rs 62.84 crore; positive net worth; MSEs at 80% |
The turnover figure follows a formula in clause B5.6 of the policy: the cost estimate times 1.5, divided by the completion period in years, with any job under a year counted as one year. For Davanagere that is Rs 69.24 lakh times 1.5, or Rs 103.86 lakh. Below a Rs 5 crore estimate the policy drops the liquid asset and net worth tests, and the Davanagere sheet marks both not applicable.
Read the definition of similar work closely. The Davanagere notice counts any civil work except only earthwork, road work or building furnishing, so an earthmoving record alone would not qualify.
Where your machines count in a POWERGRID bid
All three qualifying sheets let POWERGRID assess your capacity before award, including plant and machinery, manpower, works in hand, balance capacity and banker feedback. Keep a current list of machines you own and hire. The Dausa bid data sheet says your rates must cover tools, equipment and machinery, and its instructions to bidders (February 2019 edition) say POWERGRID pays nothing towards insuring your plant and machinery.
Tower foundation pits, cable trenches and equipment foundations are dug by excavators and backhoe loaders. But a Rs 377 crore turnover bar puts line packages with large EPC firms, and most fleet owners will work under them. Clause B9.1.6 of the policy says subcontracting other than labour needs POWERGRID’s approval, and it does not allow 100% back-to-back subcontracting. Your completion certificates and machine list are what get you accepted.
Some hiring is direct. On 22 October 2026 POWERGRID listed a two-year rate contract for a JCB and a tractor with fuel and operator, for maintenance and breakdown work on 400 kV lines around Rourkela, valued at Rs 4,22,002 and bid on GeM. Small jobs like that need a GeM seller registration, not a PRANIT bid.
MSE relief, bid security and performance security
The Dausa notice exempts MSEs registered on the Udyam portal from both the bid security and the bidding document fee, subject to the Udyam certificate. The Davanagere notice gives the fee exemption to MSEs whose major activity is manufacturing or services, and says those shown as trading on the Udyam certificate must pay the fee. Check what your Udyam registration shows before you rely on it.
No exemption covers the money due after award. Under the Dausa contract the winner gives a performance security of 10% of the contract price within 28 days of the award. Or you may consent, in writing within 28 days, to 10% being deducted from each running bill until it reaches the guarantee amount. Guarantees may come from a public sector bank in India or a bank on the contract’s list, says POWERGRID’s FAQ. Our guide to the performance bank guarantee explains the bank side, and if a guarantee margin or a new machine is the gap, compare construction equipment finance before you bid.
POWERGRID’s MSE note of May 2026 says around 94% of MSE payments are made within 15 days. It also says the financial test is waived for MSEs on packages under Rs 5 crore, yet the Dausa sheet printed the 80% rule. The FAQ says bidding documents prevail, so go by the notice in front of you.
The bottom line
Register on PRANIT first. It costs nothing, and the Dausa notice promised a login within 12 working hours of a complete request. Component makers should start the manufacturing unit approval early, as its windows are strict. Civil and foundation contractors should match completed contracts and turnover to each notice’s Annexure-A, starting with smaller substation jobs and subcontracts under line contractors. Keep your machine list, Udyam certificate and bank limits ready, and track government tenders and opportunities so a POWERGRID notice does not reach you after the bid date.
Sources: POWERGRID’s PRANIT Registration Manual (6 March 2024), tender FAQ (March 2020), Works and Procurement Policy Volume I, Revision 1.10 (March 2024), manufacturing unit approval guidelines (January 2025), MSE note (May 2026) and tender notices of 6 to 23 October 2026. Rates, schemes, rules and fees change; confirm current terms with POWERGRID, your bank or the tender’s coordinator before deciding. DesiMachines is not liable for decisions taken on information that may have changed, and every contractor should read the full bid document.
